Lili – A Poem

A poem inspired by the film The Danish Girl

 

My name is Einar
and a leash wraps a noose around my neck,
as the light bounces from the mirror
casting shadows over my skin
like a tiger’s stripes.
My body is stained with ginger hairs
and murky spots of fading beige.
Some of them speckled with silver sequins,
I inspect the hanging dresses.
I feel a lump that catches in my throat –
I slip from my clothes and I quiver.
My hairs rise up like trees from my skin
as the midnight-blue dress slips through my fingers.
A silver comb that longs for my hair
is encrusted with gleaming diamonds. I take out
my golden pocket watch.
I do not have much more time.
I scrutinise my embellished reflection
and I think I am truly beautiful.
My name is Lili

My name is Lili
and I think I am truly beautiful.
I scrutinise my embellished reflection.
I do not have much more time.
My golden pocket watch
is encrusted with gleaming diamonds. I take out
a silver comb that longs for my hair.
As the midnight-blue dress slips through my fingers,
my hairs rise up like trees from my skin.
I slip from my clothes and I quiver.
I feel a lump catch in my throat as
I inspect the hanging dresses,
some of them speckled with silver sequins
and murky spots of fading beige.
My body is stained with ginger hairs
like a tiger’s stripes
casting shadows over my skin
as the light bounces from the mirror
and a leash wraps a noose around my neck.

My name is Einar.

Leave a Reply

